Page 1 of 1

How to get rid of 'unusable' frame

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 3:19 pm
by remyastro
Hello all,

I imagined M82 last night using Live stacking functionality of Sharpcap.
It went quite well (see picture), but it happened that by change I also shot an artificial satellite.
This frame was stacked with all the other frames, and the final image contained that non-desired satellite track.

How could I have deleted this frame? Live or later on in the process ?
Are all the frames saved individually somewhere , so the be able to choose between them?

Your answer is wellcome, as so may artificial satellites are polluting our sky and our pictures!

My configuration : 65/420 mm telescope, AZ-Gti mount, 314L mono camera, output format fits.

Kind regards.
Remy
Stack_20frames_600s.png
M82
Stack_20frames_600s.png (599.14 KiB) Viewed 360 times
Stack_20frames_600s.CameraSettings.txt
Settings
(858 Bytes) Downloaded 43 times

Re: How to get rid of 'unusable' frame

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 4:06 pm
by saguaro
I'm sure others will chime in but what immediately comes to mind is that if you use the live stacking algorithm "Sigma Clipping" instead of the default, the sigma clipping will help exclude unwanted artifacts like satellite or airplane trails from the stacked image. Sigma Clipping is only available in SharpCap Pro. Hope this helps.

Re: How to get rid of 'unusable' frame

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 3:40 pm
by remyastro
Hi Saguaro,
Thank you for your advice.
From now on, I will always choose the live stacking 'sigma clipping' algorithm.
This advantage of 'sigma clipping' algorithm is also clearly explained in the sharpcap user manual.
Kind Regards.
Remy