Info stacking

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
Post Reply
nettid
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 12:53 pm

Info stacking

Post by nettid »

Hi guys,
I have a problem
Sharpcap does not found the stars to stack, but in the allign mask seems that it found them.
Can someone help me?
SC1.jpg
SC1.jpg (69.71 KiB) Viewed 1991 times
20170519_002225.jpg
20170519_002225.jpg (59.37 KiB) Viewed 1991 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5807
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Info stacking

Post by admin »

You also have the FWHM filter turned on - is it possible that is what is causing the frames to be dropped rather than the alignment? Have a look in the Filter tab and see if the star FWHM is higher than the limit.

cheers,

Robin
nettid
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 12:53 pm

Re: Info stacking

Post by nettid »

Thanks a lot, Robin
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5807
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Info stacking

Post by admin »

This is actually one of the things that is improved in 3.0 - if you stack in 3.0 and it drops a lot of frames in a row then you get a notification message come up at the top to tell you why all the frames are being dropped.

cheers,

Robin
astrnmr
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:11 am

Re: Info stacking

Post by astrnmr »

I have found that if you are dropping a lot of frames, it is usually due to one of the settings being off. Most often it is the noise filter size. It's usually set for .5. If you increase that to 1 or 2, it will help weed out bad pixels and alignment goes much smoother.
Post Reply